Heading Logo

Tuesday Musical celebrates 125th anniversary with gala

Published: August 28, 2013 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 1 Photos | View More Photos

The 125th Anni-

versary Gala of the Tuesday Musical Association (TMA) is Sept. 7 on the main stage at EJ Thomas Performing Arts Hall at the University of Akron.

The event begins at 6 p.m. for the patrons, and 6:30 for other guests. Dinner starts at 7:15 p.m.

This "Once in 125 Years Event" will honor TMA's musical history. The Brahms Allegro Junior Music Club is a special part of that history. This program is open to students interested in classical music from kindergarten through 12th grade. Monthly meetings are in various locations with a variety of guest speakers from professional performers to musicians very familiar with computer generated music. Members are encouraged to perform in this friendly environment, often in preparation for competitions. Brahms Allegro members come from a wide geographical area.

Two members of the Brahms Allegro Club; Marina (8) and Elena (6) Kikuchi Ziegler will perform at the Gala along with their mother Myumi Kikuchi, a faculty member at the University of Akron School of Music.

[Article continues below]

The Ziegler sisters are just two of the artists who will perform at this glamorous evening gala.

The evening will begin with guests being greeted on a red carpet, two cocktail parties, a sumptuous multi-course catered dinner and series of staged performances including

Steinway artist Joe Augustine and Carousel Dinner Theatre owner Scott Griffith. Several unique venues will be auctioned throughout the evening. Proceeds from the Gala will enable Tuesday Musical to continue its rich legacy of bringing internationally acclaimed performers to our community.

Gala event chairs are Mary Ann Jackson and Dan Dahl, and the Gala Leadership Committee members include Elizabeth Banasiak, Rick Krochka, Diane Newman, Meg Harris Stanton, Jene Garlando, Laurie Gilles, Scott E. Robishaw, Lorrie Whitfield, Cyndee Snider, Andrea Wlaszyn, Neil Thackaberry, Jennifer Anderson, Ron Allan, Barbara Feld, Bob & Beverly Fischer, Jon Fiume, Laura Lee Garfinkel, Gary Grether and Micah Sontag.

For Gala information or to receive an event invitation, call 330-761-3460.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.