Heading Logo

Only one of three Streetsboro at-large Council incumbents to seek re-election

by Mike Lesko | reporter Published: February 6, 2013 5:27 PM

Streetsboro -- Only one of three current Streetsboro at-large City Council members -- Council President Tim Claypoole, who's finishing his first term -- will seek re-election in the November general election, according to the Portage County Board of Elections.

Six at-large Council candidates filed petitions for three openings Feb. 6 by the 4 p.m. deadline, so there will be no primary election, according to Board of Elections officials.

Incumbent at-large Council members Chuck Kocisko and Julie Sanders, who are both finishing their second 4-year terms, did not file to run for re-election. Kocisko, currently an at-large representative, was a Ward 1 Councilman from 2003-07.

Jeffrey Allen and former at-large Council member Stephen Michniak filed petitions for at-large seats. Both were members of the city's 2012 Charter Review Commission, and Michniak is a former Council president.

Others who filed at-large petitions include Matt Bross, an at-large member of the city's board of zoning and building appeals, Sandy Smith Fischer, a special education teacher at Wait Primary School, and former mayoral candidate Brett McClafferty.

Email: mlesko@recordpub.com

Phone: 330-541-9400 ext. 4187

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.